RSS Feed

A Friendly Reminder

Posted on

It seems when my grandkids come for a visit, I’m always reminding them to brush their teeth.  I came across a cute clipart walrus and an idea formulated to create an art piece for them.

I started by scraping some gesso on an 8″ x 10″ canvas.  I used Distress Paints (Squeezed Lemonade, Scattered Straw & Mowed Lawn) to create a “drippy” background.

tooth1 8-18-2014 3-58-39 PM

After the paint dried, I mixed some Studio 490 embossing paste with Wendy Vecchi (dandelion & carnation) Archival Ink re-inkers and stenciled a background.

tooth2 8-18-2014 6-27-37 PM

I did some stamping over the embossing paste (forgot to take a picture) and my canvas was ready for the elements.  In addition to the walrus (with Liquid Pearls – White Opal tusks) , I used a clipart toothbrush and toothpaste tube.  I used Distress Paints to color some Grungeboard shapes and letters, then used Distress Glitter and Glossy Accents to punch them up.  I created words on my computer, cut them apart and edged with Black Soot Distress Ink.  Foam tape popped some of the elements up and the rest are glued to the canvas with Glossy Accents.

I just love how it turned out and can’t wait for Tristan and Hailey to see it.

tooth3 8-19-2014 4-20-09 PMI’m entering this canvas in the Anything Goes challenge at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog and Everything Goes at Inspiration Emporium’s Inspiration Journal August Challenge.

Thanks for having a look and as always, I love your comments!

Vic

9 responses »

  1. A certain 11 year old needs one of these! SO FUN and practical!

    Like

    Reply
  2. So cute!

    Like

    Reply
  3. How fun, Vic! Bet they will love it.

    Like

    Reply
  4. This is great, Vic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Really fun! I think they will remember now! Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

    Like

    Reply
  6. LOVE it Vic!!!!! That is great!!!!!!!! hugs, Patty

    Like

    Reply
  7. oh so cute so cute..hugs
    susan s

    Like

    Reply
  8. I love this!  I may just have to scrap lift this one for my youngest grandson.  I keep telling him if he doesn’t start brushing better we’re going to have to get him a pair of those wind up teeth to wear!

    Big hugs and smiles, Jenny

    ________________________________

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

