RSS Feed

Ornament Time

Posted on

My grandson just loves to do craft projects with me.  (He thinks every kid does art with their Grandma!)  We’ve made Christmas ornaments with his picture on them nearly every year and this year we included his little brother in the fun!

We cut matboard houses with Tim Holtz' Dwellings Die. The houses were colored with Distress Stains.

Tristan wrote his name on the back and then stamped the year with black Archival Ink.

I glued the houses together with Tristan’s first grade picture peeking out the front door (Tim Holtz’ Mini Ticket).  Then we were ready for a bit of embellishing.  For Jacob’s ornaments, I sandwiched a ribbon loop beween two vintage poker chips and added his picture on one side and his name/year on the other.

I added a bit of Glossy Accents around the picture and Jacob sprinkled on the glitter.

Jacob didn't like his picture being covered up so, before I could stop him - he blew it off! Glitter was everywhere! I gathered him up and had Tristan open the door so I could take him outside and brush him off. Minor "disaster" and he learned not to do that again!

We moved on to adding chunkier, icicle-like glitter to Tristan's rooftops.

Time to clean up and wait for the glue to dry.

The ornaments turned out so cute and they were very proud of them!

Here’s a close up:

I stamped some cards and they colored them, too.

Tristan's cards

Jacob's cards

They were so happy to take the cards and ornaments home and show their Mom.  I hope the recipients will enjoy them.

Last week Tristan fell on the playground at school and ended up at the emergency room with a bleeding head.  He thought it was very cool that they used super glue on it!

Small cut, big bruise and tough guy!!

Thanks for visiting!  Your comments warm my heart!

11 responses »

  1. What lovely photos!The boys look like they’ve had a fabulous time making all those things!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Your grandsons are adorable! They are lucky boys to have a grandma who can teach them the satisfaction of making things!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Just Priceless!!! What a wonderful day you had with your grandsons making ornaments and precious memories. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Tristan and Jacob, your cards and ornaments are really great. Jacob, your hand covered with glitter looks just like mine when I make projects! I don’t care, though, because I love glitter. Happy Holidays! You have a nice Grandma to make projects with you for Christmas.

    Like

    Reply
  5. OMG!! I loved your story of their creating and they are adorable!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Lucky me..I’m a recipient of one of these ornaments!! Vic is a stellar Grandma who is always finding fun things for the kids to do. You rock, Grandma!!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Vic, this is awesome!!! What a fun time and wonderful ornaments!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Vic, they are adorable! I know they had fun making those ornaments with you.
    Hugs, Judee 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. What fun I know this was!!! I have the ones my son made in school when he was little and I just love to put them on the tree each year and remember when they were so tiny! Sadly, due to a house fire, we lost many of them from his early years and my older boy’s younger years! The memories they will carry on through life of these days are something no one else can ever replace!!! *Hugs*

    Like

    Reply
  10. What lucky boys to craft with grandma! And lucky grandma too. The projects are wonderful, and the glitter story made me smile. I’m always sparkly too, LOL.

    Like

    Reply
  11. Oh now Christmas has officially begun at your home! How grand it is that you had Tristan and his little brother over for such a fun time! They sure look happy and the ornaments turned out awesome! You go, Grandma! I miss those fun times but still have all the ornaments that go on my tree each year – true treasures! Diann

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

