RSS Feed

Love Potion #9

Posted on

Well, my title is actually about Compendium of Curiosities 2, Challenge 9.  Check out the details and great art being shared over at StudioL3.  The technique can be found on page 35 of  Tim Holtz: A Compendium of Curiosities, Vol. 2.  This week’s challenge is sponsored by Simon Says Stamp.

My title reference to love potion #9 refers to my relationship with my dad.  We were tight buddies nearly all my life and although he passed away years ago and the last couple years of his life were rocky, I have times when I’d give anything to visit with him again.  I was looking through old photos and came across this one of my dad and me at an east coast beach in 1954.

Here’s my finished piece.  I kept it fairly simple, some Antique Linen Distress Stickles for sand and three little beach-themed buttons.  I did add it to a large bead chain so I have a new necklace to wear.

I’m submitting my project to Simon Says Stamp and Show Anything Goes Challenge, also.

I hope you’re having a great day.  Thanks for stopping by and I’m always thrilled with your comments.

Vic

P.S. Happy Father’s Day, Daddy from your Sweet Petunia.  (Got me ice cream every time! LOL)

18 responses »

  1. What a cool thing to make & wear. Your dad would be so proud of you, Vic!

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a fabulous keepsake and lovely use of the pocket watch. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x

    Like

    Reply
  3. Great project and so appropriate for Father’s Day that is coming up! I love how you’ve used Tim’s pocket watch to create such a cool little family heirloom! Thanks for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

    Like

    Reply
  4. I just love it when real pics are used!!! This is fantastic! Weepy here!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Super sweet, Vic! Loving that photo and your starfish embellies!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Oh Vic…I love this!!!!! What a wonderful treasure of a piece this is!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Vic,
    The watch is awesome! I know you will enjoy wearing it.
    Gail in Oklahoma

    Like

    Reply
  8. That’s very nice. I am so thankful that I get to see my Dad tomorrow. He will be 78 in December & he is still going strong but one never knows. I am greatful for every day that I have with him. I love that you have this cherished memory. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. Sweet! shirley

    Like

    Reply
  10. What a lovely way to honor your dad’s memory in wearing this necklace! I LOVE this and it looks awesome my friend! *Hugs*

    Like

    Reply
  11. Oh, how VERY sweet. This is adorable, and I love stories like this! Great job!

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

