RSS Feed

Compendium of Curiosities 2, Challenge 10!

Posted on

Wow, it’s challenge #10 over at StudioL3.  Be sure and check out all the great art created for this week.  The details are:

Technique 10: Tissue Wrap Flowers

Tim Holtz: A Compendium of Curiosities, Vol. 2, page 37

Sponsored by The Funkie Junkie’s Boutique
Last week when I was looking through old family pictures, I found my parents’ wedding picture.  They were married at my grandparents’ house in Seattle on December 9, 1950.  I was able to find a copy of their marriage certificate online and so armed with that and the picture scanned into the computer, my project began!  I created this 8″ x 10″ canvas:
Here’s a couple of close-ups:
Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you’ll leave a comment and let me know what you think of my canvas.  The theme over at Simon Says Stamp & Show is Show a Bit of Brown, so I’ll be entering it there, as well.  I’ll also submit this to the Tuesday Treasures hop here.
Vic
32 responses »

  1. What a true treasure you have created, Vic…you go girl! I always enjoy your ART! Diann

    Like

    Reply
  2. WOW! Love it Vic!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Without a doubt your best piece to date, Vic. What a beautiful piece.You are so dang clever if we weren’t best buds I could really dislike you. LOL!

    Like

    Reply
  4. This is just so touching and beautiful! What a treasure you created in this canvas! Those flowers are so soft and delicate and are just beautiful with the picture of your lovely parents! I can see we used the same key to capture a beautiful family moment! I just love this!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Such a beautiful remembrance of your parents’ special day!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Wanda Hendricks

    I love it also..would love to have a copy of this picture or any others of there wedding as I dont have any..please..Wanda

    Like

    Reply
  7. Vic what a wonderful treasured memories keepsake you have created here. I love the idea of creating a canvas with old photos and all the texture and embellishments you have added creates a wonderful dimensional collage. The key is a very special touch. Your parents sure look as though they had a very special ceremony and day.
    Thanks for sharing this at Tuesday Treasures, I am so pleased you gave me the opportunity to see it.
    hugs {brenda} xox

    Like

    Reply
  8. A wonderful piece. Such a beautiful tribute to your parents and the flowers are just perfect on the canvas.

    Like

    Reply
  9. This is my new favorite of yours!!!! WOW!!! Love the picture…so special! The whole design around it is perfect! Love the added Wendy parts…perfect! The whole vintage feel is perfect! AND…your stinking cute flowers are perfect too!!! FANTASTIC!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  10. The flowers are very pretty on the beautiful photo.

    Like

    Reply
  11. that is so beautiful! I love the old photo and how clever to go find the marriage certificate to use too.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Your piece honoring your parent’s wedding is so nicely done! I love the old photograph and the photocopied copy of their marriage license! That is awesome! Your tissue paper flowers are wonderful as well! Beautifully done! Thanks for joining us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

    Like

    Reply
  13. This is just beautiful! I love all your wonderful details and all the vintage goodness!

    Like

    Reply
  14. Hw beautiful, Vic! I love it. They look just like my parents when they were married (born in 1929, so probably just about that year too!) I love those flowers and the art part vines… this is fab!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Oh My, What a treasure this truly is Vic!!!! *Hugs*

    Like

    Reply
  16. I love it …What a great way to show a treasured photo..You have inspired me to do the same…Very creative…

    Like

    Reply
  17. What a love composition this is Vic! Just a beauty! shirley

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

