RSS Feed

It’s Windy!

Posted on

My friend told me about a ghosting technique using black and white gessoes plus ink.  It sounded like fun so I watched some videos on YouTube and decided to give it a try.  There are several variations of the technique, I used one that I had these supplies for:

supplies

I covered a piece of mat board with black gesso, after it was dry, I added several sprays of Colorwash.  After that dried, I stenciled the white gesso through the flower stencil with a sponge pouncer.  This was the result:

bkg1

I decided to define the flowers with some pigment and gel pens.  I dipped a paint brush in some purple metallic paint and tapped it on my finger to create little splatters.  I used a white pen to “stitch” around the outer edge.

bkg2

As I was doodling it started to remind me of flower prints from the sixties.  I knew I wanted to use another of Julie Nutting’s doll stamps with this background so I chose one wearing a peasant dress.  When I was in my teens I sewed dresses very similar.

windy2

I searched the web for songs of my youth and found an old favorite.  Windy by the Association was a top song for four weeks in July of 1967 – the month and year I turned 14!  I even found a little pink peace sign in my stash to add to my “flower power” trip down memory lane.

I hope you’ll let me know what you think.  Over at the ARTHavenCreations Yahoo Group we just had a discussion about  “gut” feelings when it came to creating and this piece certainly met that description.

Thanks for stopping by.

Vic

11 responses »

  1. Luv the tech, and the song lyric’s…..adorable! Thanks for stoppin’ by my blog.

    Like

    Reply
  2. What a GREAT idea, never thought of adding ink to my gesso! On my to try list.
    TFS , wonderful results Vic!
    Hugs Lynn

    Like

    Reply
  3. GORGEOUS!!! LOVE that background! She is precious as well, and great lyrics…lol!!!! What a special piece!

    Like

    Reply
  4. What a neat idea! Love the look. Especially love Windy also, one of my favorite songs!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Love, Love, Love her!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hi Vic, I’m glad to see you using that technique. I think it’s very cool & I love your Windy girl. She’s very 60’s. Peace..Joy..Love 🙂 L.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Beautiful job or should I say Groovy! This looks like a fun technique and I might have to give it a try one day soon.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Oh how cool Vic!!!! I love the look of that!!!!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Absolutely love this..It brought me back to the 60’s..Very creative and you so captured the mood and feel of the 60’s….Perfect!!! I love the song “Windy” too…Ahhhh the memories..

    Like

    Reply
  10. Looks fantastic! Thanks for the idea…may have to give it a try. ;0)

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

