RSS Feed

Faux, Faux Tea Roses

Posted on

I created some more faux tea roses and used them on to create a piece with a photo of my mother from the 1940s.

mom plaque 6-5-2014 4-30-57 PM

I used these supplies to create my roses.

supplies 6-2-2014 3-30-47 PM

You can find the faux suede technique at Ranger Ink’s site.  I sprayed both sides of my cardstock.  I love how it plumps up the paper and gives it a velvety appearance.  After it was dry, I cut out my roses.  I ran the brush tip of my Distress Markers around the edges – I used Ripe Persimmon on the yellow cardstock and Spun Sugar on the white.  I sprayed them with water and let them dry overnight.  Here’s what they looked like before and after spraying:

DSCN2570

Here’s my finished roses:

DSCN2593

I used an old wooden plaque I got at the thrift store as the base of my piece.  I painted the edges gold and stamped a mesh pattern with Tree Branch Archival ink.  I put Mom’s photo in a Tim Holtz Cabinet Card Frame after inking the edges with the same ink.  I cut my green faux suede with a leaf scroll die and leaf die.  I layered them on and added the roses.

I decided to submit this as my second entry to the Compendium of Curiosities 3, Challenge 3 – creating faux tea roses using the technique on page 65 of Tim Holtz’s Compendium of Curiosities-3Inspiration Emporium is the sponsor for Challenge #3.  Head over to Studio L3 and check out all the great ideas for faux tea roses.

I think the yellow roses are like the Peace roses my dad grew years ago.  Let me know what you think.

Vic

P.S. I haven’t heard from Monique to claim her prize, if I don’t hear by Saturday, I’ll draw another name.

18 responses »

  1. Gorgeous. You are amazing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Vic…this is such a great piece and wonderful tribute to your mom! Don’t you just LOVE Tim’s cabinet and mini cabinet cards?!?! I’m obsessed with them! 🙂 I love how you’ve used a photograph of your mom and added the beautiful faux tea roses at the bottom! Thanks for sharing your lovely art with us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

    Like

    Reply
  3. Wow … So pretty . The plague and the roses together with the great photo. It looks just fabolous all together. You are so clever making these roses. Thank you for the tips and for sharing your art !!!!
    Hugs from SPAIN

    Like

    Reply
  4. I LOVE this photo! The roses really make it pop! Gorgeous! Thanks so much for joining our rosy challenge at CC3Challenge!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Boy, this project is wonderfu! The roses look so amazingly real! I love that technique of spraying them to plump them up! They work so beautifully with the fabulous picture of your Mom

    Like

    Reply
  6. Vic, your roses are gorgeous!!! The whole project is wonderful and what a nice picture of your mom. She’s very pretty and looks so happy!!!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Love the project and your roses are simply divine! I hadn’t thought about using Perfect Ink Refresher…will next time. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Those roses are beautiful. I absolutely love them.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Your roses are beautiful. as is your project!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Fantastic!!! I love these!!

    Like

    Reply
  11. This is beautiful!! =)

    Like

    Reply
  12. susan salyer

    Oh how beautiful beautiful..and thank you for sharing.
    hugs
    susan s

    Like

    Reply
  13. I love what you have done! Your roses are gorgeous! Your Mom steals the show though. I love that beautiful laugh, I can almost hear her laughing. Wonderful. hugs, Patty

    Like

    Reply
  14. Gorgeous piece Vic! Love your roses! They are fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Beautiful piece, Vic. The roses are beautiful & perfect for your mom.:)

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

