RSS Feed

Oh, Deer!

Posted on

It’s time for the Compendium of Curiosities III Challenge #9 over  at StudioL3.  You can find the technique for this challenge on page 63 of A Compendium of Curiosities, Vol.3, Stamps & Framelits.

I used a set called Holiday Joy.  Although the set is designed for holiday projects, I used it in a non-holiday way.  Here in my area we frequently see deer standing by the side of the road with trees behind them.  I tried to recreate a scene like that on my little 4″ x 4″ canvas.

9 #1 8-23-2014 5-19-33 PM

I used Distress Paint for my background and to stencil the rays.  I used Distress Markers and Inks for my stamping.  After I cut out the images with the corresponding dies, I cut the antlers off and “adjusted” the head of the lighter colored deer to create a doe.  I glued the deer together is a side-by-side stance and the attached them to the canvas with foam tape. I added an Emerson quote that seemed fitting for the scene.

I put the canvas on a small easel (after it took the photo) and put it on mantel.  It will be another art surprise for my grandkids to find!

Inspiration Emporium is the sponsor for CCC3 #9.  I’m sure I would have no problem spending a gift certificate there!

Thanks for visiting.  Until next time, Vic

 

7 responses »

  1. Great little canvas and I love how you used it for a non Xmassy project… Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge, hope to see you again soon x

    Like

    Reply
  2. Very nice, Vic. I like the way you linked the deers necks together. They’re kind of cuddling, looking up at the trees. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

    Reply
  3. Beautiful project, Vic, and how smart to create your own doe! Thanks for sharing this with us at CC3C!

    Like

    Reply
  4. What a beautiful scene! I LOVE the variances of colors on the deer and trees! Thanks so much for playing along with us on the Framelits and Stamps Challenge at CC3Challenge!!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Vic…such a cute canvas! Your use of the framelits deer and tall pines is so cute. I love the sentiment that you’ve used here. It ties everything up perfectly. Thanks for joining us at CC3C. ❤ Candy

    Like

    Reply
  6. Oh wow, i love that Vic, it is beautiful!!! hugs, Patty

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

