RSS Feed

13th on a Friday!

Posted on

I right up to the deadline for getting my CCC #3 challenge posted.  We’re up to number 13, you can read the details at Studio L3.  As usual we use a product from Tim Holtz’s A Compendium of Curiosities, Vol.3.

The challenge is found on page 35, Worn Covers.  I altered my cover to make an album to put the many pumpkin patch visit photos I have of my grandchildren.  I know they will enjoy looking through it often.

I used a technique I came across while browsing the web.  I glued Grungeboard shapes on the cover and used Glue n seal to adhere one ply of a damp paper towel. After it was dry, I painted the whole cover with Black Soot Distress Paint.  Once the black paint was dry, I used metallic paints to highlight the shapes and texture.  It turned out great but taking a good photo turned out to be nearly impossible!

35 worn cover

I think I’ll try a Christmas-themed album using the same technique.  The sponsor for challenge 13 is Inspiration Emporium and the Curiosity Crew will pick a winner for a fun gift from Tim.

Thanks for coming by and, as always, I love reading your comments.

Vic

4 responses »

  1. I love what you done Vic!!!! I always love your art, it makes me happy. Way to go!!! hugs, Patty

    Like

    Reply
  2. Love it! When I was doing mixed media I used paper towels..A LOT..their texture is great. They work very well on altered tins & picture frames, too. Nice work, Vic!:)

    Like

    Reply
  3. OH MY GOODNESS!!! A papertowel?!! LOVE that! And, you’ve just taught me something new! Thank you! LOVE the black! Thanks so much for playing in our Worn Cover challenge at CC3Challenge!!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Great job Vic!!!

    Betty

    Like

    Reply

What do you think?

